Center for Gaming Research
UNLV home
University Libraries Home
World Series of Poker: A Retrospective
Summary of 1985 Tournament
Notable Players

Amarillo Slim Preston
Ken Smith
Stu Ungar
Charles Dunwoody
Bobby Baldwin
Sam Petrillo
Jack Straus
Chip Resse
Johnny Moss
Perry Green
Doyle Brunson
Benny Johnston
Tom McEvoy
Jay Heimowitz
"Puggy" Pearson
Dewey Tomko
Carl Cannon
Bill Smith
Larry Flynt
Gene Fischer
Sandy Stupak
Robbie Geers
Crandall Addington
Rod Peate
Carl Mc Kelvey
Donnacha O'Dea
R.R. Pennington
John Squatty
George Huber
Betty Carey
Barbara Freer
Gabe Kaplan
Sam Moon
Johnny Chan

Grand Prize Winner: Jack Keller $660,000

Runners Up: Byron Welford $264,000, Jesse Alto $132,000,
David Chew $66,000, Rick Hamil $66,000,
Curtis "Iron Man" Skinner $52,800, Mike Allen
$26,400, Howard Andrew $26,400 and
Rusty La Page $26,400.

Notes on Play

MAY 16th

One hundred and forty poker players participated in the ' 85 WSOP Championship game. $ 1,400,000 in prize money was at stake.

At the end of day two, merely twenty- four poker players were left standing. Three of the twenty four poker champions were former WSOP Champion holders.


Twenty-four poker players were whittled down to nine players. Only one former WSOP Champion holder would make it to the final day.

May 19th

Johnny Moss did not claim the title WSOP Champion for the fourth time; the title went to Bill Smith.

WSOP Index | Horseshoe History | Benny Binion | Annual | Galleries | Writings| More Resources | About

© 2001-2007 University of Nevada Las Vegas
All site content is copyrighted material and may not be reproduced without prior permission.

Questions? Contact the appropriate person.


This page last updated Monday, 22-Oct-2007 16:50:16 PDT